How simple gestures of kindness generate great rewards of value

 

See yourself always as cause, and perhaps a better world will be found among your effects. ~Robert Brault

 I love cup cakes. I just can’t stop myself from indulging in this sinfully butter cream topped delight every time I come across it sitting plump on a rack amidst its other fresh colorful cousins teasing me. And the names they go by are nothing short of a temptress on a mission. Dirty Blonde, Red Velvet, Dark Angel, Peppy Pattie and this list never seems to end. And I helplessly reach out to them regardless of my sugar levels and the excessive lard I carry neatly tucked inside my jacket.

One day, as I shamelessly surrendered to committing this sin once again at mall I turned around from the cashier with this gorgeous looking sugar loaded gazillion calorie delight in my hand and bumped into two senior ladies who were strolling by lost in their little world talking to each other. As I apologized I quickly realized that they really didn’t care to even make eye contact with me or care what happened for their eyes were fixed at the cup cake on my hand. They smiled and said its ok but their eyes didn’t budge from the cup cake. I deliberately moved the cup cake up towards my face and back down and watched them follow it through with a big smile. And I thought diamonds were a woman’s best friend.

I just found them absolutely cute. I asked them if they would like to try it. They both looked at each other, smacked their lips and hesitantly nodded in favor.  One of them told me they shouldn’t be eating it but it looked so good that they simply couldn’t help but try a small piece if I didn’t mind.  I grabbed a couple of spoons and gladly offered them my little princess. Each took a spoon full, and were as delighted as a little kid would be with when give a toy of their choice. The both laughed at their silly behaviour, and thanked me as thought I had fulfilled their long lost desire for something that they were perhaps permanently forbidden for. It just seemed as though that little piece of cup cake meant a lot more to them.

Although it was just a simple careless gesture from me, the amount of joy it brought to them just made my day.  A little bit of joy that I could bring to two absolute strangers, especially at an age where they are perhaps deprived of such simple luxuries of life that we so thoughtlessly take for granted, left me with a sense of humility and satisfaction that is difficult to express. It was nothing much for me, but it had a lot more value and satisfaction to them than my cravings for these little sin packed muffins with rich crowns. For me, it felt like I had done something great that day.

We can do no great things, only small things with great love. ~Mother Teresa

What may seem invaluable or insignificant to us often ends up being something of greater value for others. I am sure each one of us have done something similar to this gesture of mine and made others happy. Or even a small deed or act of charity, good, or help that meant a lot more to the other person than it costs us. But how often do we truly do this proactively and especially display such generosity, care and love towards the people we love? It is perhaps an instantaneous natural display of good we express to others and strangers and yet get clouded in our minds and seldom express such chivalry or kindness to those who love us, mean a lot more to us and depend on us.

We may accept absolute nonsense from others, tolerate condescending behaviour from others at work, be more understanding towards the ignorance and stupidity of strangers and yet, display absolute intolerance, short temper, anger and rage towards the very people who form the foundation of our core happiness, emotional strength, stability and fulfill our personal need for unconditional love.

 Every action in our lives touches on some chord that will vibrate in eternity. ~Edwin Hubbel Chapin

If there is anything that the world, history, people, life, and every major event has thought us, it is that we people can do the most amazing of things in each of our lives. We can destruct, create, hate, love, take or give and live as nobody and stay bitter due to our prejudice or become somebody and leave behind a legacy. We can make great positive contributions to humanity, our family or even just one individual. We can influence, coax, inspire or provide.

Yet we either choose to do nothing or often choose to do what is wrong.

When we compare to those who lived just a few decades ago, we go to work in much more sophisticated cars, speak to people on a wireless telephone linked to our car via Bluetooth, work on a laptop with soft wares that practically required basic data input, come home to super think 3D TV programs, best of foods, inside our fanciest houses, and sleep on perhaps the most comfortable and scientifically developed luxurious mattress. And yet we never stop finding reasons to complain about our life, people, fate, bad luck and anything we can find to blame things on.

If you have time to whine and complain about something then you have the time to do something about it. ~Anthony J. D’Angelo, The College Blue Book

Bring happiness to others is one of the easiest things we can do. And this can be done every day. But in order to do that we ourselves must learn to be happy. We do not wake up happy and motivated every day. But when we get out, we seek and gather our happiness from others. Small gestures of kindness, a simple smile, a short discussion about something funny, or even laughing about something that is being shared that was on the news or work place makes us feel better. Similarly, we have the same impact on others as well on a daily basis.

A small gesture of kindness, sharing a joke, or just a smile makes a big difference. It may be almost an insignificant gesture for you, but it may have a much more positive effect on others.  We are social animals and we thrive on daily human interactions. As we seek positive behaviour, positive interactions, meaningful conversations, inspirational discussions, and progressive attitudes from others daily we must realize that others may expect the same from us too. This is perhaps the least we can offer towards making others happy. And the effect our positive acts has on others is comparatively much smaller to the effect it has on our inner happiness, peace, self esteem, ego and confidence. This gratifying feeling makes us feel purposeful, generous, and shows our ability to make a larger difference in our world than we every imagined.

I expect to pass through life but once. If therefore, there be any kindness I can show, or any good thing I can do to any fellow being, let me do it now, and not defer or neglect it, as I shall not pass this way again. ~William Penn

So pick up that phone and call your parents, sibling or old friend. Try to do one nice things every day for your spouse, child, friend, colleague or anyone you interact with beginning today. Compliment anything that you find nice in others, share an inspirational story, by charitable, offer to help someone who you find is struggling with some task, stand up for someone, support someones righteous efforts, give the next car the space to merge into your lane, go above and beyond for a customer, make a positive difference at work, inspire someone to do better, get some flowers for your spouse to show your appreciation, take your kids out for a dinner and a movie, pay it forward. You will never know the true value of your such simple daily gestures. Often there are those who may not express but depend on you for such gestures to pick them up every day in your life. People may forget your favours, but they will never forget your kind gestures and timely help. Nevertheless, the rewards for such deeds are yours to enjoy.

Great opportunities to help others seldom come, but small ones surround us every day. ~Sally Koch

