If I die today…..

 

Like all things that are rare and limited are most valued and precious to us, our life becomes too dear and lot more meaningful when it come close to its end. I have been there and I know how it feels. You cling on to every single breadth; cherish each single moment, and every single person become too dear to you.  And your whole past life flashes in your eyes as you get over whelmed with the feeling and need to undo everything you did wrong, undo every hurt you caused, express your love to several people and say how much they mean to you and disperse off all your wisdom to those who may use it to grow into fine young people and perhaps remember you with fondness.

The way to gain a good reputation is to endeavor to be what you desire to appear. ~ Socrates

In such times, regardless of how callous you were with your life and considered your “I don’t give a damn..” and “F-you” attitude as being impressive, all you wish for is to get a few more moments to try and make your life a bit more purposeful, meaningful and valuable to others more than yourself. Your personal need for happiness, wealth and success has no meaning any more as your loved ones and their personal needs and future become of supreme interest to you.  Such is life, when death takes hold of your hand to pull you away from all that you took for granted.

I think everybody should get rich and famous and do everything they ever dreamed of so they can see that it’s not the answer. ~Jim Carrey

For me, this new chance to accomplish my dying wishes has become my purpose of this life. Ever since, I have begun to enjoy and cherish every single day and moment with lot more appreciation and gratitude. Suddenly everything begins to look beautiful in this world and it becomes very hard to find the bad beyond the good in every person. And in my pursuit to make my this life more meaningful and purposeful, I one day began to write my “If I die today …. “ letter addressed to those who mater most in my life. I must confess that this exercise has been one of the most invaluable of experiences and a very profound one. For, every time I attempt to write it, it pushes me to rethink and evaluate myself through the eyes of others in terms how I am perceived and valued, and what have been my true accomplishments and blunders in my life. It also helps me realize the need to change for the better immediately and do all the good things I can for each person that I interact with. This stems from the new found underlying wisdom that life is too short and all that you leave behind is a hand full of memories in the minds of the people you have touched.  Hence, leaving behind memories that inspire them, bring a smile into their lives, makes them feel loved, valued, cherished and above all the lessons they learn from your life become of utmost importance in your life.

Life is a series of family photos in which you keep moving to the rear until finally you’re a portrait in the background. ~Robert Brault

I urge you to take the time to try and write your “If I die today… “ letter or at least ponder on what it may say to those who you will leave behind. If anything, it will certainly help reflect and redefine your core values, and purpose in this short life of yours. It is a very fragile, intensely complex and highly unpredictable world we live in today and we mostly live with a sense of entitlement and careless audacity infused by our ego, good health, ample time on our hands and the promise of endless possibilities. But it all comes crumbling down and forces you to reconstruct your beliefs based on meaningful relationships and purposeful living the moment you are threatened of everything that you have taken for granted. Like everything about life, your end just happens to spring up upon you when you least expect it and it often happens due to reasons beyond your control.

Never ask, “What reason do I have to be happy?” Instead ask, “To what purpose can I attach my happiness?” ~Robert Brault

Write your version of the letter and be prepared to be profoundly surprised and amused to learn the countless things in your life that you need to be absolutely grateful for and understanding the need to bring about the changes in your this very moment, especially towards those who matter the most to you.

When a child is born, people greet it with celebration and laughter while its first moments are of anguish and tears. But the true value of its life is only measured when the child grows up and then later dies after a purposeful living when it lies in peace and tranquility and the people miss it with anguish and tears ~ Attributed to Sufi Kabir